Avalon Golf League

Season 2015


Avalon Golf League – Sec Report.


AGM – Worlebury Golf Club – Wednesday 18th October 2015 @ 7.00 p.m.


1. The Season


Overall I think another good season was had with some very close finishes in many divisions. The biggest disappointment is the closure of Frome GC at the end of September and my thanks and best wishes to everyone involved at Frome over the years for their support. Obviously huge congratulations to their A team in winning division 1 in their final season.


2. Mockeridge Cup.

This year’s Mockeridge Cup was played at Wheathill GC and won with a superb 43 points by Worlebury, Keri Allchurch & Tony Westren. Our thanks to Wheathill Golf Club for hosting  an excellent day for us.


3. Finals Day.


Saturday 12th October saw the 7 Divisional winning teams compete for the Western Daily Press Trophy at Tall Pines GC. Our thanks to Tall Pines Golf Club for their hospitality. The result was close until the final pairs came in, with Frome A winning with an excellent 202 points and Stockwood Vale C runners up with 200 points.


4. Terry Crane Trophy.


The 5th year of the Terry Crane Trophy was a good victory for Keith Parker & Chris Davey of Stockwood Vale C with 45 points. This trophy having been introduced in recognition of the long years of service of Terry as secretary and committee member of the Avalon League; we are delighted to be able to recognise him in this way.


5. 2016 League Divisions.


As mentioned above Frome GC will not be participating next year, hence 2 teams being removed from the League. We have, however, have extra teams from Burnham & Berrow, Isle of Wedmore and The Mendip which make all 7 divisions full with 6 teams as attached.


There is also a request from Cannington GC to join the League, which I shall detail below.


May I please ask that fixtures for next season are submitted at the AGM or as soon as possible after that date.


6. 2014 Shackleford Trophy.


The Shackleford Trophy in its 3rd year by Taunton & Pickeridge Stags GC in Division 3 with a score of 9.1 points per match. Pete Shackleford has asked to have his congratulations passed on to the team.


7. 2013 Match Fees


From a committee standpoint there was no cause to consider any change to the £12 per head per match fee. We have had a request, however, from Isle of Wedmore GC to increase it to £14 per head. Tony Ribi will introduce their proposal and it will be left to the meeting to decide on the proposal in the usual manner.


8. Avalon League Committee


Having had a full complement of 6 members on the committee those up for re-election are:- Rob Ford & Andy Carter. Both have indicated their willingness to continue subject to AGM acceptance. In addition, Alan Fussell is standing down from the committee hence if anyone is interested in joining the committee please let us know.


9. Avalon League Seniors Competition


A number of clubs have requested the organisation of a seniors league which would be played on weekdays for the future. Rob Ford will introduce this for discussion to the meeting.


10. Cannington Golf Club Request for Change in Avalon League Constitution


We have received a formal application from Cannington GC to join the Avalon League. At present the Constitution requires any club seeking membership to have an 18 hole course. To provide Cannington GC an opportunity of putting their case to all teams we have invited them to come to the AGM and present their case in person to all the member teams.


Jeff Lewis




Trophy Winners 2015

Div 1       Frome A

Div 2       Burnham & Berrow

Div 3       Taunton & Piceridge Stags

Div 4       Oake Manor B

Div 5       Stockwood Vale C

Div 6       Brean A

Div 7       Worlebury Royals


Mockeridge Cup         Worlebury (Keri Allchurch & Tony Westren)

Finals Day       Frome A

Runners Up         Stockwood Vale C

Terry Crane Cup         Keith Parker & Chris Davey (Stockwood Vale C)

Shackleford Trophy     Taunton & Pickeridge Stags







Avalon Golf League – Treasurer’s Update.


The 2014 & 2015 Income / Expenditure summary will be circulated. Given the stability of our funds I would recommend that the Annual Subscription remain at £25 per team.




Jeff Lewis